Thursday, May 27, 2010

Surviving Domestic Violence and Stalking with Susan Murphy Milano on AWN Radio Thursday May 27, 2010 at 9:00 PM EST/ 8:00 PM CST

Surviving domestic abuse & stalking means strategic planning & playing it smart. When faced with daily survival tasks & overwhelming fears a victim is too often left with no time to properly construct safety plans & an escape guide. If you toss into the mix the unique sensory differences faced by individuals on the autism spectrum, then you will understand why Susan Murphy Milano's new book "Time's Up" is proving to be a vital asset.

All people react in a highly sensitized manner when processing stress surrounding violence & ongoing abuse. For individuals on the autism spectrum, most experience unique sensory challenges pertaining to Executive Function & will be faced with processing an even more exaggerated sensory reaction when enduring acts of violence, stalking, and/or ongoing abuse.

Some of these noticeable neuro-differences for individuals on the spectrum are:

•Making arbitrary choices
•Breaking down large tasks into smaller steps
•Recognizing possible options in their situation
•Deciphering how they feel about various options
•Implementing information and/or their skills necessary to complete tasks
•"Beginning" (actually start moving in response to thought)
In Time's Up, Susan has already done your thinking for you as she guides you through the necessary strategies, and life saving tools. Law enforcement agencies, social workers, psychologists, and attorneys are looking to it as a valuable resource when assisting clients.

Radio Show Link:

To call on with questions and comments: 917-889-3527

Thursday May 27, 2010.

Show Times are: 6PM PDT, 7PM MDT, 8PM CDT, 9PM EDT. If outside the USA, you can determine when our show broadcasts live in your area by using the Meeting Planner.

The show is being dedicated to the memory of Franki Jacobson murdered in January of 2010. She was a wife, mother and author wrote under the name Frankaleana Beana. She co-author the children’s book released in December of 2009 titled “Green Bean’s Birthday Party” a book to help parents of children with autism. She was a pioneer on a mission to bring awareness to children with autism. As a mother of two 7 year- old twin boys Eric and Joshua. She had written articles from "do you know the signs of autism" to "what parents can do for their children once they are diagnosed."

In a wealthy Palm Beach Florida gated community the author and her two boys were murdered by their loving father and husband.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...